Thames Sport and Recreation Project - Partners and Supporters

Thanks to all our partners and supporters on the Thames Sport and Recreation Project

The goal was to get close to $1 million of local support for the skate park, gymnasium and upgrades to outdoor sports facilities, and with public grant funding for all three projects over time, raise over 1/3rd of the total project costs – about $2.5 million of the combined $7.2 million cost.

Our focus has been approaches to local businesses and families, with an emphasis on donations of $10,000 and above, and with the option to pay contributions over a five-year period.

In addition to public grants of $850,000 and Thames High School's commitment of $440,000, community fundraising has exceeded its initial target with Thames Sport and Education Trust achieving some $550,000.

The Hauraki Herald as the Active Thames media partner has generously made regular pages possible to provide project updates.

Our Partners


Major Partners

  • Powerco
  • Thames High School
  • New Zealand Community Trust
  • New Zealand Lottery Community Facilities Fund
  • Trust Waikato

Gold Partners

  • Richardson Real Estate Limited
  • Veolia

Silver Partners

  • Hauraki Herald
  • Wilderness Motorhomes

Bronze Plus Partners

  • CNS I Home IT
  • Harcourts Thames
  • Kopu Hall Committee
  • Miller Poulgrain Lawyers
  • Harrison Grierson
  • Richardson Real Estate Thames

Bronze Partners

  • Business One
  • Mary and Eric Hamilton and Family
  • Maree and Gary Jamieson and Family
  • Karen and Todd Murphy and Family
  • Peter and Jenny Richardson and Family
  • Saunders Mitsubishi Thames
  • SRE Electricians
  • Stirling Sports Thames
  • Kopu Engineering
  • Stihl Thames
  • Thames Farm & Industrial


  • ANZ Thames
  • Mighty River Power
  • Thames Dental and Podiatry
  • Totally Thames

How can you help?

Businesses wanting to support please get in contact with Karen Murphy on 027 629 5022, call her now.

The Fundraising Committee is made up of Mary Hamilton, Shaun Richards, Peter Richardson, Vaughan de Groen and Karen Murphy.