Latest News & Public Notices

Local Elections 2019: More candidates for the Coromandel needed

14 August 2019

Right now, not enough nominations have been received to fill all the available positions, so that means in some wards and community board areas the candidates already registered will be elected automatically – with no competition – AND we will need to hold byelections early next year.

Elections graphic

The deadline for candidate nominations is noon this Friday, 16 August. Don’t leave it to the last minute to file your nomination material because if there is anything missing, or your nominators are found to be ineligible, your nomination will be rejected until you can complete it properly.

We need people to run for Councillor in the Thames Ward and as members for the Tairua-Pauanui Community Boards. There is also only one nomination so far for Mayor.

There is competition in the other Wards and Community Board areas. For example, six people are running for the four Whangamata Community Board positions. This means voters have a choice.

So far three people are running for the Tairua-Pauanui Community Board. Unless more people put in nominations, they will be automatically elected, plus we’ll have to hold a byelection in that area early next year. The Coromandel-Colville Community Board has four candidates for the four positions so unless other candidates come forward, those four will be elected. In the Thames Ward there are two candidates for the three Councillor positions. Those two will be elected and a byelection will be needed for the third spot unless more nominations come in.

A byelection is a mini election for just the area that needs the missing elected members. It involves many of the same costs as a full election but with reduced postage costs because of the smaller area usually involved.

Here are the nominations as of this afternoon:

Mayoral Candidates

  • Sandra Goudie

Councillor Candidates

Coromandel-Colville WARD (One councillor will be elected from this ward)

  • John Morrissey
  • Neville Cameron

Mercury Bay WARD (Two councillors will be elected from this ward)

  • Tony Fox
  • Murray McLean
  • Debbie Farrell

South Eastern WARD (Two councillors will be elected from this ward)

  • Dave Ryan
  • Terry Walker
  • Ken Coulam
  • Gary Gotlieb
  • Jan Bartley

Thames WARD (Three councillors will be elected from this ward)

  • Rex Simpson
  • Murray Wakelin 

Community Board Candidates

Coromandel-Colville COMMUNITY BOARD (Four community board members will be elected from this ward)

  • Peter Pritchard
  • Jan Autumn
  • Jean Ashby
  • Pamela Grealey

Mercury Bay COMMUNITY BOARD (Four community board members will be elected form this ward)

  • Rekha Giri-Percival
  • Bill McLean
  • Leanne Petersen
  • Gilbert Bannan
  • Debbie Farrell
  • Graeme Matthews

Tairua-Pauanui COMMUNITY BOARD (Four community board members will be elected from this ward)

  • Warwick Brooks
  • Barry Swindles
  • Anne Stewart Ball

Thames COMMUNITY BOARD (Four community board members will be elected from this ward)

  • Michael Brewerton 
  • Strat Peters 
  • Sheryll Fitzpatrick
  • Peter Revell
  • Cherie Staples

Whangamata COMMUNITY BOARD (Four community board members will be elected from this ward)

  • Dave Ryan
  • Gaye Barton
  • Graeme Smith
  • Helen McCabe
  • Ken Coulam
  • Kay Baker

We’ll be updating this list daily on our “Nominations Received” web page daily until the nomination period closes at noon on Friday 16 August and all the candidates are confirmed.

To help you prepare your nomination forms, read our Candidate Information Handbook. Download it from our website at or pick up a hard copy from one of our Council offices.

The nomination forms are editable PDFs which you can type into directly, then print off, sign and send them in with your supporting material.

The Candidate Information Handbook also has information on the roles and responsibilities of elected members, pay, campaigning and voting. It’s on our website at or available at our Council offices. Or phone our Electoral Office on 0800 922 822.

Read our Pre-Election Report to get an overview of our district, including Council finances, major projects, planned future direction, challenges and opportunities. It’s available on our website at

Meet the candidates

"Meet The Candidate," information sessions are being arranged around the Coromandel by different ratepayer groups and organisations. Let us know if you're organising one and we'll help get the word out. Either email or let our customer services team know by calling 07 868 0200.

Saturday, 14 September

Tairua - 2pm Community Hall, 210 Main Rd. Hosted by Tairua Ratepayers' and Residents' Association.
Note: this time has changed from 3pm to allow time for people to travel to the Whangamata meeting.

Whangamata - 5:30pm Memorial Hall, 326 Port Rd. Hosted by Whangamata Ratepayers' Association.
Note: this time has changed from 5pm to allow time for people to travel from the Tairua meeting.

Are you registered to vote?

Voting packs will be posted from 20 September and votes must be returned by noon on 12 October to be counted.

If you live in Thames-Coromandel District, make sure you’re on the Parliamentary Electoral Roll in order to vote. If you’re not sure you’re registered to vote, check on the Elections Commission website or phone 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 367 656).

If you don’t live here permanently, but own a property here, you can probably still vote. Make sure you’re registered on the Ratepayer Electoral Roll. Ratepayer Roll enrolment forms are available on our website at, at our Council offices, or phone the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

The more people who vote, the more likely Council decisions and actions will reflect community needs and aspirations.