Latest News & Public Notices

Last chance to vote in the local elections

11 October 2019

Today and tomorrow morning are your last chances to vote in the elections for Mayor, Councillors, Community Board Members and the Coromandel's representative on the Waikato Regional Council. Voting closes at noon tomorrow (Saturday 12 October).

Our Council service centres will be open from 9am - 12 noon tomorrow for last-minute voters. 

If you've got your voting papers, fill them out and drop them off at any of our Council service centres.

It's too late to post them - they won't arrive by noon tomorrow.

If you haven't received your voting pack, come into any of our Council service centres and ask for a special vote.

Or, phone our elections office on 0800 922 822.

Not registered to vote? 

If you're eligible to vote but haven't registered, today (Friday) is the last day to register.

Apply to register:

  • At any NZ Post agency;
  • Phone 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 36 76 56); or,
  • Do it online on the Electoral Commission website

THEN, get a special vote, as above.

Where can I find information on the candidates?

Not sure who to vote for?

Each voting pack contains a booklet with candidates' statements. Or, you can see them on our website at Click on each candidate's name to see their statement. 

We’ve also published candidate contact details on our website at if you wish to contact candidates directly. Not every candidate chose to supply contact details – it was optional.

Please note, David Foreman has unofficially withdrawn his nomination for the Coromandel-Colville Community Board but will still appear on your voting papers.

From now until voting closes we're publishing daily voter returns on our website at, so you can see how many people in the district, and in each community board have voted.

Election results

There won’t be an election for the Tairua-Community Board because the four candidates are unopposed. They are:

  • Warwick Brooks
  • Barry Swindles
  • Anne Stewart Ball
  • Chris New

Progress results will be released soon after the close of voting, on the afternoon of Saturday 12 October.

Preliminary results will be released the following morning.

Final results will be released on the afternoon of 17 October.

Our current elected members remain in office until the day after the declaration of final results is publicly notified. This official notification will be published in the Waikato Times, likely on 19 October, although issues such as recounts could affect this timing.

The new term’s elected members cannot act in their roles until they are sworn in on 31 October.

For more information on the elections, go to our website