Submission Form 2024 Representation Arrangements Review					
To: Governance Strategy Manager Thames-Coromandel District Council Private Bag 1001 Thames 3540					
SUBMITTER					
Name: Mr/Mrs/Ms/Miss					
Postal Address					
Telephone(day)(mobile)					
Email					
ORGANISATION If you are completing this submission on behalf of others, please name the group or organisation:					
PRESENTATION Submissions will be considered by Council in August 2024. Do you wish to present your comments to the Council in person? Yes No SUBMISSION Isupport the 2024 Representation Arrangements Review (as summarised over page) 1 do not support the 2024 Representation Arrangements Review (as summarised over page) for the following reasons: (Please type or write clearly in black or dark blue pen, as your submission will be photocopied for distribution)					
Signature of submitter Date (or person authorised to sign on behalf of submitter) Please complete this form, and return it to us by 4pm Friday 2 August 2024					

PLEASE NOTE: Your written submission, including any personal information supplied, will be made available to Councillors, Council staff and the public as part of this consultation process. Copies of submissions may also be released at any other time, upon request.

2024 Thames-Coromandel District Council Representation Arrangements Review

On 13 June 2024, Council resolved to adopt as its initial proposal for the representation arrangements review that the Thames-Coromandel District Council comprises the mayor elected 'at large' and ten councillors elected from five wards, these being:

- Coromandel-Colville General Ward (represented by one councillor), comprising the northern and north-western
 portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Kennedy Bay in the east to Waikawau in the west (being the
 current ward area);
- Mercury Bay General Ward (represented by three councillors), comprising the mid-eastern portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Whangapoua in the north to Hot Water Beach in the south (being the current ward area);
- South East General Ward (represented by two councillors), comprising the lower eastern portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately south of Hot Water Beach to Whangamatā (being the current ward area), excluding the area of Neavesville and its surrounds (being meshblocks 1057802, 1059402 and 1060409);
- Thames General Ward (represented by three councillors), comprising the south-western portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Te Mata in the north to Wharepoa in the south (being the current ward area) and including the area of Neavesville and its surrounds (being meshblocks 1057802, 1059402 and 1060409);
- Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward (represented by one councillor), comprising the entire Thames-Coromandel district Council area.

It is proposed that Thames-Coromandel District Council be divided into five communities, these being:

- Coromandel-Colville Community Board (represented by four elected members and one appointed member of the Council representing either the Coromandel-Colville General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the northern and north-western portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Kennedy Bay in the east to Waikawau in the west (being the current community board area);
- Mercury Bay Community Board (represented by four elected members and three appointed members of the Council representing either the Mercury Bay General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the mid-eastern portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Whangapoua in the north to Hot Water Beach in the south (being the current community board area);
- Tairua-Pāuanui Community Board (represented by four elected members and two appointed members of the Council representing either the South East General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the townships of Tairua, Pāuanui and Hikuai (being the current community board area), and excluding the area of Neavesville and its surrounds (being meshblocks 1057802, 1059402 and 1060409);
- Whangamatā Community Board (represented by four elected members and two appointed members representing either the South East General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the townships of Ohui, Opoutere, Wharekawa, Onemana and Whangamatā (being the current community board area);
- Thames Community Board (represented by four elected members and three appointed members representing either the Thames General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the south-western portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Te Mata in the north to Hikutaia in the south (being the current community board area) and including the area of Neavesville and its surrounds (being meshblocks 1057802, 1059402 and 1060409).

The reasons for the proposed changes to the current representation arrangements are:

- an additional councillor to reflect the introduction of a Maori Wards; and
- a minor boundary change between the South East General Ward and Thames General Ward, and the Tairua-Pāuanui Community Board and Thames Community Board to better reflect communities of interest. The area of Neavesville is accessed via one road from the western side of the district, and it is considered that constituents of Neavesville better identify with the Thames General Ward and Thames Community Board area.

The five wards, the number of councillors per ward, the ward populations (estimated as at 30 June 2023) and the population ratio per councillor are as follows:

Ward	Population	Councillors	Average	% Variation
Coromandel-Colville General	2,840	1	2,840	-15.75%
Mercury Bay General	10,050	3	3,350	-0.62%
South East General	7,510	2	3,755	11.39%
Thames General	9,940	3	3,313	-1.72%
Thames-Coromandel Māori	3,310	1	3,310	N/A