



FACT SHEET | WHĀRANGI MEKA

2025 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ELECTIONS 11 OCTOBER 2025

ightarrow What does council do?

The Thames-Coromandel District Council meets regularly to make many decisions that impact the day-to-day lives of people in the district. The Council governs a wide range of local services including roads, water systems, rubbish collection, libraries, parks, community centres, dog registration, community and economic development and district planning.

→ BACKGROUND

Local government triennial elections are being held by postal vote on Saturday 11 October 2025 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to Thames-Coromandel District Council.

The first past the post (FPP) electoral system will be used for both the Thames-Coromandel District Council and the Waikato Regional Council elections.

ightarrow 2025 KEY DATES

Nominations open	Friday 4 July
Nominations close	noon, Friday 1 August
Delivery of voting packs	from Tuesday 9 September
Close of voting	noon, Saturday 11 October
Official results announced	Friday 17 October

\rightarrow WHO IS BEING ELECTED?

Following the decision to establish Māori wards in 2023, Thames-Coromandel District Council undertook a representation arrangements review (review of wards, boundaries, number of elected members etc).

As a result of this, elections will be required for the following positions:

- ightarrow Mayor (elected 'at large')
- \rightarrow Councillors (10)
 - Coromandel-Colville General Ward (1)
 - Mercury Bay General Ward (3)
 - South East General Ward (2)
 - Thames General Ward (3)
 - Te Tara o Te Ika Māori Ward (1)



- ightarrow Community Board Members (20)
 - Coromandel-Colville Community Board (4)
 - Mercury Bay Community Board (4)
 - Tairua-Pāuanui Community Board (4)
 - Thames Community Board (4)
 - Whangamatā Community Board (4).
- ightarrow Waikato Regional Council Members
 - either 1 member from the Thames-Coromandel General Constituency; or
 - 1 member from the Ngā Tai ki Uta Māori Constituency.

In addition, electors of the Thames-Coromandel District Council area will be able to vote on a poll —whether to retain or disestablish the Māori ward for the Thames-Coromandel District Council. The outcome of this binding poll will apply to the 2028 and 2031 triennial elections.

\rightarrow HOW CAN I BE NOMINATED?

Nominations for these positions open on Friday 4 July 2025 and close at noon on Friday 1 August 2025.

For online nominations go to: <u>www.esp.electionservices.co.nz</u>.

Printed nomination papers will also be available during this period from:

- ightarrow Council's Main Office, 515 Mackay Street, Thames;
- $\rightarrow\,$ Coromandel Town Service Centre, 355 Kapanga Road, Coromandel;
- \rightarrow Mercury Bay Service Centre, 10 Monk Street, Whitianga;
- ightarrow Tairua Library, 2 Manaia Street, Tairua;
- $\rightarrow~$ Whangamatā Service Centre, 620 Port Road, Whangamatā;
- \rightarrow by accessing: <u>www.tcdc.govt.nz</u>
- \rightarrow by phoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate **<u>must</u>** be:

- → a New Zealand citizen (by birth or naturalisation ceremony); and
- → enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand); and
- $\rightarrow\,$ nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll within the respective area that a candidate is standing for.

A candidate information handbook will be available in May 2025.

\rightarrow WHO CAN VOTE?

Those eligible to vote are all resident electors and nonresident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll. The Preliminary Electoral Roll will be available for public inspection from Friday 4 July 2025 to Friday 1 August 2025 at the following locations:

- \rightarrow Council's Main Office, 515 Mackay Street, Thames;
- \rightarrow Coromandel Town Service Centre, 355 Kapanga Road, Coromandel;
- \rightarrow Mercury Bay Service Centre, 10 Monk Street, Whitianga;
- ightarrow Tairua Library, 2 Manaia Street, Tairua;
- → Whangamatā Service Centre, 620 Port Road, Whangamatā.

<u>Resident Roll</u>: All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live.

Any alterations to the Resident Roll (e.g. change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

- \rightarrow phoning 0800 36 76 56;
- → accessing the Electoral Commission website: <u>www.vote.nz</u>

Ratepayer Roll: If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (provided the nominated person resides outside the area).

Ratepayer Roll enrolment forms are available at <u>www.ratepayer.co.nz</u> or <u>www.tcdc.govt.nz</u> or phoning 0800 922 822.

<u>All Electors</u>: All electors will be able to vote for the mayor and respective community board members. Those electors on the general electoral roll will be able to vote for the respective general ward councillors and those on the Māori electoral roll will be able to vote for the Māori ward councillor.



\rightarrow HOW TO VOTE?

Voting packs will be posted to all those who have enrolled from Tuesday 9 September 2025.

The voting period is just over four weeks (Tuesday 9 September 2025 to noon Saturday 11 October 2025).

Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange replypaid envelope sent with their voting document.

Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Tuesday 9 September 2025 to noon Saturday 11 October 2025 at the following council offices:

- \rightarrow Council's Main Office, 515 Mackay Street, Thames;
- $\rightarrow\,$ Coromandel Town Service Centre, 355 Kapanga Road, Coromandel;
- → Mercury Bay Service Centre, 10 Monk Street, Whitianga;
- ightarrow Tairua Library, 2 Manaia Street, Tairua;
- → Whangamatā Service Centre, 620 Port Road, Whangamatā.

In addition, votes can also be hand delivered to a vote box at specific locations found on Council's website: <u>www.tcdc.</u> <u>govt.nz.</u>

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by noon, Saturday 11 October 2025.

\rightarrow results

Progress results will be known early afternoon on election day, and preliminary results will be known on Sunday, 12 October 2025. Final results will be known by Friday 17 October 2025, and all results will be accessible on Council's website: www.tcdc.govt.nz.





Dale Ofsoske | Electoral Officer Independent Election Services Ltd Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland PO Box 5135 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142 Email: info@electionservices.co.nz Phone: 0800 922 822 Donna Rawiri | Deputy Electoral Officer Thames-Coromandel District Council 515 Mackay Street, Thames Private Bag 1001, Thames 3540 Email: donna.rawiri@tcdc.govt.nz Phone: [07] 28 00 974