Notice of Representation Arrangements Review Initial Proposal



Under sections 19H, 19J and Schedule 1A of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Thames-Coromandel District Council is required to carry out a review of its representation arrangements for at least the 2025 triennial elections.

On 13 June 2024, Council resolved to adopt as its initial proposal for the review of representation arrangements for at least the 2025 triennial elections, the following:

Council Representation

- (a) It is proposed that Thames-Coromandel District Council comprises the mayor elected 'at large' and ten councillors elected from five wards, these being:
 - (i) **Coromandel-Colville General Ward** (represented by one councillor), comprising the northern and north-western portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Kennedy Bay in the east to Waikawau in the west (being the current ward area);
 - (ii) **Mercury Bay General Ward** (represented by three councillors), comprising the mideastern portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Whangapoua in the north to Hot Water Beach in the south (being the current ward area);
 - (iii) **South East General Ward** (represented by two councillors), comprising the lower eastern portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately south of Hot Water Beach to Whangamatā (being the current ward area), excluding the area of Neavesville and its surrounds (being meshblocks 1057802, 1059402 and 1060409);
 - (iv) Thames General Ward (represented by three councillors), comprising the south-western portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Te Mata in the north to Hikutaia in the south (being the current ward area) and including the area of Neavesville and its surrounds (being meshblocks 1057802, 1059402 and 1060409);
 - (v) **Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward** (represented by one councillor), comprising the entire Thames-Coromandel District Council area.
- (b) The number of Māori ward councillors complies with Schedule 1A of the Local Electoral Act 2001;

Community Board Representation

- (c) It is proposed that Thames-Coromandel District Council be divided into five communities, these being:
 - (i) Coromandel-Colville Community Board (represented by four elected members and one appointed member of the Council representing either the Coromandel-Colville General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the northern and northwestern portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Kennedy Bay in the east to Waikawau in the west (being the current community board area);
 - (ii) Mercury Bay Community Board (represented by four elected members and three appointed members of the Council representing either the Mercury Bay General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the mid-eastern portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Whangapoua in the north to Hot Water Beach in the south (being the current community board area);

- (iii) **Tairua-Pāuanui Community Board** (represented by four elected members and two appointed members of the Council representing either the South East General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the townships of Tairua, Pāuanui and Hikuai (being the current community board area), and excluding the area of Neavesville and its surrounds (being meshblocks 1057802, 1059402 and 1060409);
- (iv) Whangamatā Community Board (represented by four elected members and two appointed members of the Council representing either the South East General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the townships of Ohui, Opoutere, Wharekawa, Onemana and Whangamatā (being the current community board area);
- (v) Thames Community Board (represented by four elected members and three appointed members of the Council representing either the Thames General Ward or the Thames-Coromandel Māori Ward), comprising the south-western portion of the Coromandel Peninsula from approximately Te Mata in the north to Hikutaia in the south (being the current community board area) and including the area of Neavesville and its surrounds (being meshblocks 1057802, 1059402 and 1060409).

In accordance with section 19K(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the reasons for the proposed changes to the current representation arrangements are:

- an additional councillor to reflect the introduction of a Māori ward; and
- a minor boundary change to the Thames General Ward and the South East General Ward and Thames Community Board and Tairua-Pāuanui Community Board shifting the area of Neavesville and its surrounds to better reflect communities of interest, as there is no road access to the settlement of Neavesville from the eastern side of the district, but it is accessed via one road from the western side, and constituents are considered to better identify with the Thames General Ward and Thames Community Board area.

The five wards, the number of councillors per ward, the ward populations (estimated as at 30 June 2023) and the population ratio per councillor are as follows:

Ward	Population	Councillors	Average	% Variation
Coromandel-Colville General	2,840	1	2,840	-15.75%
Mercury Bay General	10,050	3	3,350	-0.62%
South East General	7,460	2	3,730	11.39%
Thames General	9,980	3	3,326	-1.72%
Thames-Coromandel Māori	3,310	1	3,310	N/A

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the population that each general ward councillor represents must be within the population range of 3,371 plus or minus 10% (3,034 – 3,708) unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

The initial proposal does not comply with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and, if resolved as the final proposal, must therefore be referred to the Local Government Commission for determination. Council have investigated adjusting ward boundaries to achieve compliance, however consider that doing so would divide existing communities of interest.

FURTHER INFORMATION

Copies of the Statement of Proposal – Representation Arrangements Review are available from the following Council offices:

- Council's Main Office, 515 Mackay Street, Thames
- Coromandel Service Centre, 355 Kapanga Road, Coromandel
- Mercury Bay Service Centre, 10 Monk Street, Whitianga
- Whangamatā Service Centre, 620 Port Road, Whangamatā

Copies of this document are available on request from Thames-Coromandel District Council, Private Bag 1011, Thames 3540. You can also view this document on Council's website: www.tcdc.govt.nz

SUBMISSIONS

The initial proposal has been submitted for formal consultation, including inviting written submissions from any interested person or organization. Submissions should be addressed to: Governance Services, Thames-Coromandel District Council, 515 Mackay Street, Thames or Private Bag 9001, Thames 3540.

Submissions can also be emailed to: governance.services@tcdc.govt.nz

Submissions should state your name, address, telephone number and email address (if you have one) and should reach the Council no later than **4.00pm on Friday 2 August 2024**.

Council will read and consider all submissions. Please clearly state if you wish to speak in support of your submission and note that any submission made will be available to the public. Hearings and meetings on the review will be open to the public.

Aileen Lawrie, Chief Executive Thames-Coromandel District Council

Phone: 07 868 0200